Well, summer is over and it’s time to get back to work! That goes for faculty as well as students. This summer was the first summer ever that I didn’t teach a summer class. I was scheduled to teach a section of Typography but there weren’t enough students enrolled and it was canceled. This seems to be a growing trend at UCO. I think our students need a break and many need to work during the summer so they can return in the Fall. Whatever the reason in our program summer enrollment seems to be on the decline.

OK, the first question when you get back to school each fall is . . . What did you do over the summer? It might even be one of the questions you are asked as an ice breaker in one of your new classes. Well, here is my “Show and Tell!” Many of you know that I was building a guitar in my spare time. Well, I took the extra time this summer and finished it! Overall it took me over a year to finish. It was truly a labor of love, and it turned out better than I ever dreamed. It looks great and more importantly it sounds great. Here are some photos of the finished Hefner OM #001.

Well, that is my show and tell, I can’t wait to see yours. I will be posting regularly now with the Fall semester back in session, so please come back often for more info on classes, projects, techniques and Design. If you are really interested in the guitar/process, I have a blog for that. Check it out at http://lhefner.blogspot.com/.

